Fae Golden Kass Lectureship

 The Fae Golden Kass Lectureship was created by gifts of the family and friends of Fae Golden Kass to support an annual lecture by a woman in the medical sciences.

The Fae Golden Kass lecture was created in the mid-1970s by Dr. Edward H. Kass, the William Ellery Channing Professor of Medicine, Emeritus at Harvard Medical School, to honor his first wife, Fae, who died in 1973.With the support of friends and family, the lectureship was conceived as a way to honor an outstanding woman in the medical sciences. It is now sponsored jointly by Harvard Medical School and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.Fae Golden Kass, born in Cleveland in 1923, graduated from the University of Wisconsin and received a master’s degree in social work from Simmons College.  After her children entered school, Mrs. Kass resumed her education at Boston University and obtained a master’s degree in education.  She worked as a career counselor at Northeastern University until her death.Fae Kass’s mother was an attorney and, later, a businesswoman in Cleveland, and likely influenced her daughter’s belief in the potential and abilities of women.  Although Fae Kass herself was clear on her choice to first be a mother and homemaker, she had no doubt that women could also pursue other endeavors, and her own political philosophies and values reflected this belief. Fae Golden Kass was an individual who possessed a wide-angle view of the world, someone who was deeply interested in the education and promotion of women.  She believed strongly in social justice and in greater opportunities for women. We also honor the vision of her husband, Dr. Edward H. Kass, a pioneer in infectious diseases, who sought to honor his wife’s memory through these lectures.

1977 Dr. Dorothy M. Horstmann Yale University Medical School
1979 Dr. Helen M. Ranney University of California, San Diego
1980 Dr. Dorothy Hodgkin Bristol University, England
1981 Dr. Dorothy Rice National Center for Health Statistics
1983 Dr. Renee C. Fox University of Pennsylvania
1984 Dr. Harriet Zuckerman Columbia University
1985 Dr. Janet D. Rowley University of Chicago
1986 Dr. Maxine Singer National Cancer Institute, NIH
1987 Dr. Margaret Warner Harvard University
1988 Dr. Barbara Starfield Johns Hopkins University
1989 Dr. Maxine Hayes Department of Social Service, Washington State University
1990 Dr. Wendy Savage London Hospital Medical Colleges, England
1992 Dr. Vivian Pinn Office of Research on Women’s Health, NIH
1993 Dr. June Osborn University of Michigan
1994 Dr. Diana Chapman Walsh President, Wellesley College
1995 Dr. Mary Ellen Avery Thomas Rotch Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
1996 Dr. Enriqueta Bond President, Burroughs Wellcome Fund
1997 Dr. Florence Haseltine Center for Population Research, NICHD, National Institutes of Health
1998 Dr. Tara O’Toole U.S. Department of Energy
1999 Elizabeth Marincola, M.B.A. President, American Society for Cell Biology
2000 Dr. Mary Claire King University of Washington
2001 Dr. Deborah Prothrow-Stith Harvard School of Public Health
2003 Dr. Susan Lindquist Director, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
2004 Dr. Gro Brundtland Former Director-General, World Health Organization, and Former Prime Minister of Norway
2006 Dr. Julie Freischlag Chair of the Department of Surgery and Surgeon-in-Chief, The Johns Hopkins Hospital
2008 Dr. Catherine D. DeAngelis Editor in Chief, JAMA
2013 Dr. Marion Nestle Paulette Goddard Professor in the Department of Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health and Professor of Sociology at New York University

Comments are closed.